

THE CITY OF NEW YORK BRONX COMMUNITY BOARD 6

1932 Arthur Avenue, Room 403-A, Bronx, NY 10457

Telephone: (718) 579-6990 Fax: (718) 579-6875 Email: bronxcb6@bronxcb6.org

Honorable Ruben Diaz Jr., Bronx Borough President

MS. EVONNE CAPERS Board Chairperson

MR. JOHN SANCHEZ
District Manager

Transportation Committee Meeting Minutes

Thursday, October 22, 2020 Lisa Sanchez, Committee Chairperson

The Transportation Committee Meeting met on Thursday, October 22, 2020 via Zoom Audio and Video Conference. The following board members attended the meeting: Clarita Bailon, Maria Garcia, Rosa Peraza.

The following item was discussed:

 Discussion of Preliminary Community District Needs and Community Board Budget Requests for Fiscal Year 2022.

The committee members selected the following expense requests:

- Address traffic congestion
 - East 174th Street and Webster Avenue intersection Cross Bronx Expressway Service Road
 - Fulton Avenue and Crotona Park North
- Improve traffic and pedestrian safety, including traffic calming.
 - Webster Avenue and Fordham Road; East Tremont Avenue and Webster Avenue intersection
 - Third Avenue and East Tremont Avenue
 - West Farms Square and East Tremont Avenue
 - Keep the area near the bus depot clear after hours
 - o Arthur Avenue and East Tremont Avenue this intersection should be daylighted
- Improve subway station or train cleanliness, safety and maintenance.
 - BX9 on East 180th Street and Devote Avenue (street lighting)

The committee members selected the following capital requests:

- Improve traffic and pedestrian safety, including traffic calming.
- Roadway maintenance (i.e. pothole repair, resurfacing, trench restoration, etc.)
 - East 175th Street and Boston Road to East Tremont Avenue (resurfacing)
 - East Tremont Avenue between Bronx Park Avenue to West Farms Road (potholes)
 - East 179th Street between Wyatt Avenue and Morris Park Avenue
- Repair or construct new curbs or pedestrian ramps.
- Repair or upgrade subway stations or other transit infrastructure.
 - o East 174th Street and East 175th Street, and East 180th Street Subway Station

Honorable Ritchie Torres, City Council Member, 15th Council District Honorable Rafael Salamanca Jr., City Council Member. 17th Council District